Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    September 23, 2005

    Gayle, Inzamam and Dravid last minute inclusions

    Following Tendulkar's and Gibbs' withdrawals from the ICC Super Series, their replacements have been named. Inzamam, Dravid and Gayle have been called up. Inzamam and Gayle replace Tendulkar and Gibbs respectively in the test side while Dravid replaces Tendulkar in the one-day side.

    With Gayle being called up instead of Gibbs, this means viewers, spectators, World XI players and their Australian opponents will salivate at the prospect of seeing Sehwag and Gayle bat together. Even if Gayle dropped down the order, the most likely candidate to open with Sehwag would be Afridi. Just make sure you do not miss a ball of the action when these chaps are batting!

    And no, Gibbs hasn't pulled out fearing the long arms of the law, yet again. This time it is an injury.

    Meanwhile, the ICC has announced that the umpiring duties for the three one-dayers will be shared by Aleem Dar, Darrell Hair, Rudi Koertzen and Simon Taufel. Simon Taufel and Rudi Koertzen will be the on-field umpires for six days of the Super Test.

    There is one problem with the appointment of Taufel and Koertzen for the test. Given that the games are official tests and one-dayers, the announcements violate Law 3.1.3 of the ICC's own playing conditions for test matches.

    Law 3.1.3 states:
    ICC will appoint two umpires to stand in each Test Match. Neither of such umpires shall be from the same country as the participating teams and shall be selected from the 'Elite Panel' or the 'International Panel'.

    Correct me if I am wrong, but this effectively means that Taufel, who is from Australia, one of the participating teams, cannot umpire in the Super Test! But of course, who stops the ICC from moving its own goalposts.

    Darrell Hair, although resident in England for a while now, continues to represent Australia on the umpiring panel. His appointment seems to have now created a situation where he could report Murali for chucking, again.


    Thus spake Jagadish @ 3:40 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    0 sledge(s):

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to Gayle, Inzamam and Dravid last minute inclusions



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Bob Woolmer - persona non grata
    Tendulkar pulls out of ICC Super Series
    Michael Vaughan v/s Nasser Hussain: Andrew Flintof...
    Gillespie, Hayden, Kasprowicz, Martyn dropped from...
    England announce squad to tour Pakistan
    Yousuf Youhana is now Mohammad Yousuf
    Greg v Gang?
    India wins on the field, but..
    Dravid's achievement
    Another flying Test

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.