Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    September 28, 2005

    ICC prunes awards shortlist

    Two weeks after announcing the nominations for the various ICC Awards categories, the ICC today announced a further culling.

    As a result, several players have now been dropped from the categories to which they were nominated.

    Dravid and Ponting are left out from the 'Player of the Year' list.

    Chanderpaul, Lara, Martyn, Kumble, McGrath, Ponting, Kaneria, Sangakkara, Sehwag, Harbhajan and Younis Khan drop off from the 'Test Player of the Year' list. There goes my prediction on Sehwag getting the award. Ironically enough, although Inzamam is a contender for award, the ICC did not think he was good enough to represent the World XI. He was then called up when Tendulkar withdrew. Incensed, he refused the invitation and finally accepted it.

    The 'ODI Player of the Year' has a lot of censoring as well. From the original list, Dravid, Gibbs, Inzamam, McGrath, Kemp, Ponting, Sangakkara, Shoaib Malik, Graeme Smith, Trescothick, Vaas, Vettori and Youhana drop out. There goes yet another prediction on Inzamam winning the prize.

    As for the 'Emerging Player of the Year', Gambhir and Manjurul Islam Rana exit stage left.

    Now my picks are
    Player of the Year: Flintoff
    Test Player of the Year: Warne
    ODI Player of the Year: Flintoff or Lee
    Emerging Player of the Year: Pietersen

    Who're your picks?

    Labels: ,

    Thus spake Jagadish @ 7:25 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    1 sledge(s):


    By Blogger Ganesh (28-Sep-2005, 8:48:00 PM)  

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to ICC prunes awards shortlist



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Compromise, consensus or come-down?
    Inzamam plays ball
    Iconoclast, eccentric or visionary?
    Inzamam refuses to play ball
    The excreta hits the roof
    Chappell turns on the heat
    Gayle, Inzamam and Dravid last minute inclusions
    Bob Woolmer - persona non grata
    Tendulkar pulls out of ICC Super Series
    Michael Vaughan v/s Nasser Hussain: Andrew Flintof...

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.