Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    October 13, 2006

    BCCI honours list unconvincing

    The BCCI has decided to felicitate India's captains in the last 50 years at a function held a day before the final of the ICC Champions Trophy.

    Presumably they're only honouring those who captained India in test cricket, since the list (Polly Umrigar, Dattajirao Gaekwad, Nari Contractor, M.A.K. Pataudi, Ajit Wadekar, Bishan Singh Bedi, S. Venkatraghavan, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Ravi Shastri, Dilip Vengsarkar, Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid) indicates so.

    But, if Ravi Shastri, who captained India in one test, can be honoured as a captain, why can't Chandu Borde and Virender Sehwag, who captained India as many times as Shastri did, be honoured as well? Hemu Adhikari too would have been eligible, were he alive now. If DK Gaekwad (4 tests) Venkataraghavan (5 tests) and Srikkanth (4 tests), can be honoured, why not GS Ramchand (4 tests). At least Ramchand skippered India to a memorable win against Australia at Kanpur (thanks to Jasu Patel's 9/69). Neither Gaekwad, nor Venkat, nor Srikkanth led India to a win.

    As an aside, if you manage to get hold of the October issue of Cricinfo Magazine, read the item (pg 92) on the 1988/89 Irani Trophy game between Tamil Nadu & Rest of India and enjoy Cheeka's continuous "Nee adi da machaan" (spank it, dear brother-in-law!) motivational quotes to VB Chandrasekhar, who scored a 56-ball century in a chase of 340).

    Got it: Here's the report.

    Labels: ,

    Thus spake Jagadish @ 5:32 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    0 sledge(s):

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to BCCI honours list unconvincing



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Lee to make India debut next week
    "The wicket has got another terrorist"
    Well said, Neil Manthorp
    Three month tour for Ashes urn
    A waste of time
    Pakistan contemplating name change
    Shane Bond fit
    Shock and horror
    Pakistan sideline Inzamam
    A little known fact about Shane Warne

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.