For those not watching the game...here was something unique.....Samuels bowled an Afridi-isque faster one that confounded that batsman Kaif as well as, from what we saw later, umpire Bucknor as well. He was later seen signalling the 3rd ump to make a note of that delivery to be watched later. Reason...almost clear bent of arm that was visible even with the first normal replay! First time seen umpire do that....and happy to see that the oft-adopted clever tactic of some bowlers to use the bent arm selectively, and especially by part-timers, is not going unnoticed.
My take is that the umpire should have the right to call the bowler for chucking, when he thinks it happens. In any case, for no-balls or wides, it isn't as though he refers to the third umpire. If the bowler is "called" twice for a chuck, he cannot bowl any more and after the day's play/game, the video evidence is used to confirm if he actually does chuck or not.
We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve
the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your
own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which
only reference sites for viewing live streams.
Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original
content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions
All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.