Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    October 11, 2005

    ICC awards announced

    The 2005 ICC awards are out.

    Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff shared the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Player of the year. In the first ever tie in the history of the ICC awards (this is the second year!), both players were tied on 86 votes. Effectively, fifty members couldn't get their act together and pick one over the other.

    Jacques Kallis wins the Test player award.

    I'm curious to know why Kallis' achievement in winning the Test player of the year award doesn't give him an advantage over Flintoff in being named as the Player of the year.

    Kevin Pietersen has won the Emerging player and ODI player awards.

    The England team won the Spirit of Cricket award.

    Simon Taufel was voted the Umpire of the Year award for the second year running.

    Photos from the event.

    The ICC announced its World ODI team, of which three players - Atapattu, Inzamam and Naved-ul Hasan Rana weren't even picked for the Super Series and Dravid was not in the first list.

    The ICC's World Test team included Inzamam, who was picked as a replacement as well as Vaas and Kumble who were not even picked.

    I suppose this selection does expose the original selections for the Super Series as being based purely on hype and star value rather than form or cricketing ability. Alternately, the Super Series selections were accurate and these two World teams aren't a true reflection of the players' abilities and form.

    The absence of any bowlers in the players' awards list, Flintoff's presence notwithstanding, is further proof that international cricket and voting panels are sorely biased in favour of batsmen. As a self-proclaimed erstwhile member of the bowling fraternity, I vehemently oppose these acts!

    Labels: , ,

    Thus spake Jagadish @ 5:50 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    2 sledge(s):

    England must have won the Spirit of Cricket award for upsetting the South Africans and Clive Lloyd last winter.

    By Anonymous Geoff (12-Oct-2005, 8:32:00 PM)  

    Ashley Giles should have been given some honorary award or the other. I am devastated.

    By Blogger Jagadish (13-Oct-2005, 7:07:00 PM)  

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to ICC awards announced



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    India Seniors start poorly
    Australia completes yellowwash
    Tennis elbow continues to haunt India
    World XI falls prey yet again
    Australia draw first blood
    Crying over spilt milk
    Super Series update
    The mind games start
    Another retirement from all forms of cricket
    No ICC World XI helmets?

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.