Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    November 18, 2008

    Collingwood targets 'inexperienced' Indian middle-order

    At the press conference before the start of the second ODI against India, Paul Collingwood, England's skipper until a few months ago, laid out England's plans of world domination competing in the one-dayers against India.The 'inexperienced' middle order that he refers to has over 400 ODIs between three players (51 for Suresh Raina, 29 for Rohit Sharma, 215 for Yuvraj Singh & 121 for Mahendra Singh Dhoni).

    I guess if he feels that way about the 'experience' factor, it's his opinion and he's entitled to it. So can we then assume that England will not revert to the oft-repeated 'inexperienced team' excuse if (or when?) they do get mercilessly thrashed in the rest of the series?

    After all, the England lineup for the first one-dayer had Ian Bell (50 ODIs), Matt Prior (28), Owais Shah (47), Kevin Pietersen (82), Andrew Flintoff (133), Paul Collingwood (149), Ravi Bopara (28), Stuart Broad (37), Samit Patel (7), Steve Harmison (51) & James Anderson (97).

    Update: Just realized that Kevin Pietersen is the latest entrant to the Cricket 24x7 Captaincy Clanger club. He put in India at Rajkot after winning the toss and watched them make a humongous 387, and obviously England lost! Only 15 other captains have done it, with Ranatunga & Ashraful having done it twice!

    Labels: , , ,

    Thus spake Jagadish @ 6:10 AM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    1 sledge(s):

    Just noticed the statistics you put on cricinfo! This means dada and the Indian think-tank lost us the world cup with a decision to field first against a rampaging Aussie team!

    Had we batted first, we could have atleast made a match of the finals. I uess the Indian think tank thought that it was better to chase since the last two World Cups were won by teams batting second!

    By Blogger Mayuresh Gaikwad (18-Nov-2008, 1:29:00 PM)  

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to Collingwood targets 'inexperienced' Indian middle-order



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Famous moustaches in Australian cricket
    Why is the England v India series a 7 ODI 2 test s...
    India vs Australia - Fourth Test - Day 1,2,3,4 & 5...
    Bye bye, Australia. Welcome, England!
    What a series, pity about the pitches though!
    Boring and defensive - which team?
    Mohammad Yousuf joins the ICL, but had he ever gon...
    Evil Indian ploy to win series 1-0
    Gautam Gambhir will miss the Nagpur test
    Anil Kumble retires

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.