Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    December 27, 2004

    Yuvraj's brilliant fifty, the second fastest by an Indian, propelled India to a mammoth 348 against Bangladesh in the deciding one-dayer at Dhaka. All the Indian batsmen got runs with Sehwag and Tendulkar going berserk for a couple of overs early on. Dravid and Ganguly also milked the bowling around and Kaif gave Yuvraj great support with some deft placements and crazy running.

    However, the performance of this full strength side can do nothing to mask the obvious failings of Sunday. The fall-guys were the new/comeback players. It is in fact ridiculous to suggest that the youngsters hadnt performed when it was in fact the seniors who failed to put their hands up when it counted. Ganguly, Sehwag and Yuvraj played atrocious shots while Zaheer seemed determined to bowl every delivery worse than the previous one. Agarkar's lofted ondrive which landed safely in the hands of long on standing 3/4 of the way to the rope. All of them were responsible for India's defeat yesterday. Sriram must be wondering what he has done wrong in the two games he has played to be left out in this deciding game. Mongia and Murali Kartik would obviously feel that they didnt get enough opportunities to prove the selectors right (or wrong). Instead, Zaheer Khan is persisted with, in spite of his profligacy being a very important reason why Bangladesh exceeded 200 yesterday. Why Irfan Pathan didnt play today, if India were putting up its first choice XI, baffles me. Apparently he is India's fourth choice seamer after Zaheer, Agarkar and Joginder!

    It was totally predictable that Bangladesh would always struggle after the euphoria of yesterday. By dropping those who really should have been given an opportunity to step up and win the series, Indian cricket has gone a couple of steps backward.
    Thus spake Jagadish @ 3:58 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    0 sledge(s):

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Matthew Hayden could do with some more batting tip...
    Adam Gilchrist feels that it is tough for any team...
    Steve Waugh points out how while Langer got on the...
    CricInfo's editors, reporters and contributors com...
    The happenings of yesterday in countries across So...
    At last, Bangladesh turned a lion on playing their...
    The conflict between the West Indies players, mana...
    Tendulkar will sit out the second onedayer tomorro...
    Australia have not lost a test at Melbourne since ...
    As the end of the year approaches, it is now the t...

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.