Spirit of cricket spoils Sehwag century?
Predictably enough, Suraj Randiv's no-ball to Virender Sehwag, preventing Sehwag from reaching his century with a six, is making the news on the extremely vitriolic TV channels. Did he bowl it deliberately, to ensure that Sehwag didn't reach a well-deserved 100? Who cares?
Sehwag changed his opinion from not taking it too seriously ("It happens in cricket. The other team doesn't want anybody to score a hundred against them. They tried their best. Doesn't matter to me, 99 or 100.") to claiming it was deliberate
in the span of a few minutes.
Besides, Sehwag did play out a couple of dot balls. So there's no real basis for him to whine.
Is there anything in the rules that prevents a bowler from doing so? No! Even if it is there in the 'spirit of cricket'
, it means nothing. Captains and players have acted totally in violation of the spirit defined and no action has been taken.
Did anything prevent India from declaring & setting Sri Lanka around 70 to win immediately after VVS Laxman got out in India's 2nd innings at Galle
? There was charity being doled out to Murali in the form of his 800th wicket
. VVS perhaps was trying to get the message across by getting run out? Why didn't any of the other batsmen get dismissed timed out, handling the ball, obstructing the field or hitting the ball twice?
Labels: india, murali, spirit of cricket, sri lanka