Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    November 02, 2007

    Warne-Murali trophy? Naah!

    To commemorate the 25th anniversary of test cricket between Australia and Sri Lanka (lest we forget, they've played the grand total of eight series in this period), there is a proposal by Sri Lanka's cricket board to name a trophy after the two spinning legends.

    I have a few [better, imho!] suggestions. If they wanted to use legendary spinners, then why not name it the McIntyre-Dharmasena trophy? If they wanted to celebrate batting under-achievers in tests, why not name it the Law (avg. infinity)-Nawaz (Test batting avg. of 99) trophy? If they had to celebrate pleasing batting, then they could have named it the Waugh (Mark, not Steve! Are you serious?!) - De Silva trophy? They could also name it the 'Audi' trophy in honour of Mark Waugh's four ducks in a row against Sri Lanka (facing a total of 12 balls) and pocket a nice sponsorship from Volkswagen in the bargain! To honour two bowlers with dubious actions, may I suggest the Mura-Lee trophy?

    Labels: , , , , , ,

    Thus spake Jagadish @ 6:44 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    2 sledge(s):

    Mura-Lee trophy, thats hilarious..

    By Blogger anil (02-Nov-2007, 8:39:00 PM)  

    The Vaas Vase?

    By Blogger Uncle J rod (05-Nov-2007, 5:49:00 PM)  

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to Warne-Murali trophy? Naah!



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    The Dravid imbroglio
    Grin and bear it?
    The foolish fan
    Craig McMillan retires
    Meaningless stat for the day
    Five runs penalty for Pakistan, again!
    Another open-top bus ride?
    Put him out of his misery - Ban Sreesanth for a ga...
    Seven year old Andrew Symonds
    India's best XI for the one-dayers

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.