Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket

Breaking/Brief news

    April 19, 2005

    Cricket Australia announces contracted players list

    After reaching an agreement with the players, Cricket Australia announced the list of players who have been awarded contracts for the next 12 months. Prominent among those who have not been offered a contract are Darren Lehmann, Ian Harvey and Matthew Elliott. The new faces are Daniel Cullen and Michael Lewis.

    It does seem very obvious that the selectors had the 2007 World Cup in mind while deciding the contracts list. There're quite a few players aged under 25 in that list. But the inclusion of 30 year old Michael Lewis is beyond my understanding. He'd be 32-33 in a couple of years' time when McGrath and Kasprowicz leave the scene. Shaun Tait would be the natural permanent inclusion in the fast bowling roster when that happens. I dont really see a career for Lewis, given that he is not a spring chicken.


    Thus spake Jagadish @ 12:44 PM |
    Did you like the post? [ Subscribe to the blog feed - Blog Feed | | ]

    0 sledge(s):

    We'd prefer if you posted comments with your real name to add more credibility to your opinions. However, the moderators reserve the right to delete comments, especially those containing offensive or unsuitable language. The opinions in the comments are your own views. You are welcome to provide a URL to your own cricket blog, but the moderators reserve the right to delete comments which only reference sites for viewing live streams.

    Post a Comment

    Links to Cricket Australia announces contracted players list



    Blogger search:

    Create a Link

    Links within entries open in a new window. Some of the links may now be broken/not take you to the expected report since the original content providers may have archived/removed the contents. Some of the sites linked may require registration/subscription.
    All opinions expressed are those of the authors alone. The authors' respective employers (past, present or future) are in no way connected to the opinions expressed here.
    All pictures, photographs used are copyrights of the original owners. We do not intend to infringe on any copyright. Pictures and photographs are used here to merely accentuate and enhance the content value to our readers.

    Powered by Blogger Locations of visitors to this page
    RSS Feed - RSS Feed

    Contact us
    cricket24x7 at gmail dot com
    cricket24x7 at yahoo dot com

    How Cricket 24x7 started

    The squad
    Gough lets it rip at Thommo
    Ganguly's appeal dismissed, ban upheld
    South Africa and Sri Lanka looking for new coaches...
    Australian board and cricketers reach agreement
    John Wright quits in disgust
    Pakistan win series 4-2 at Delhi
    Homesick Harmison on touring, the Ashes etc.
    Afridi blasts rapidfire century as Pakistan take t...
    BCCI pondering about television channel
    South Africa win at Trinidad and take the lead aga...

    RHS navbar photo source - Tc7

    Partnership between

    Creative Commons License
    Cricket 24x7 - All the cricket by V Ganesh & S Jagadish is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.